All the Things in one weekend.

About a year ago I was cursing my frail body, because it had been diagnosed with a bouncing new hypertensive condition and was under doctor’s orders: Do Not Run. I was quite upset about this because I wanted to do my second 10k, the Abbey Dash, and couldn’t. Instead I quelled my sorrows by helping out at Thought Bubble where I was the hall leader for a concrete shell of a building with 300 tables and four other volunteers.

This year I booked my Abbey Dash place early, because, yanno, I was going to do this. I didn’t really comprehend the date, if I’m honest – it was in November and I booked back in August, not long after I totally cocked up running the Leeds 10k and started taking this running lark seriously.

In September I was put back in the “please don’t run” camp by a mild heart problem. I confirmed that I’d help out at Thought Bubble, not really comprehending the date because I thought I’d probably not be able to do the Dash again.

In October I had an angiogram (which was clear), was told I was fine to start running again, so I restarted training with three weeks to go before the Dash. And then I thought “hang on, when is Thought Bubble again?” and of course they were the same weekend. The idea of limits has never really appealed to me, and whilst I know where my boundaries are I do like to make sure they can be tested, so I thought for about four seconds and went “I can do this.”

So I did: TB this year was a well-oiled machine, with no last minute surprises other than the usual tiny things. I arranged that I’d be in late on Sunday, and showed up on time on Saturday and had a great day, and then on Sunday I had my porridge and ran all the way around the Abbey Dash route. When I say “ran” I mean I didn’t walk at all, didn’t stop at all, and my pace didn’t drop below 12min/mile for the whole route. I even showboated slightly at the end with a sprint finish that I did with gritted teeth because I knew I could do it and wanted to get my time under the 1:16 I did back in July, and if I could get it under 1:12 I’d be even happier.

Official time? 1:11.14. I’d knocked four minutes and forty-six seconds off my 10k PB. To say I was happy was, well, an understatement.

Anyway, after that I went back to Thought Bubble and got back on shift, and didn’t finish until 8pm. And because I was a bit tired decided to leave the redshirts after just a pint and collapsed at home, where I slept like the dead for 9 hours and went to work the following morning. Because like an idiot I’d not booked the Monday off.

If I do the same thing next year – both the Dash and TB – then please, remind me to book the day after off.

(My actual TB writeup will show up sometime this weekend. Contains thoughts about comics.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to All the Things in one weekend.

  1. You are quite mad, you know, but you make me feel better about my own similar madness.

    =oD

  2. Pingback: Leeds 10k, 2015 edition | Backwards Lion

  3. Pingback: South Leeds Roundup: Cake, crafts and a community clean up - South Leeds Life : South Leeds Life

Leave a Reply

