40 things: mini update as to what’s going on.

Crafter semi-acoustic

The last few days have been a bit busy, but I’ve had a lot of really helpful suggestions for what I can do to finish off the list. Currently up to 37 things. Sometimes I think of things and don’t write them down, though… anyway.

  • write and perform some incidental music for a play
  • do some drop spinning and knit what I spin
  • have a go at Go Ape (this goes into “Terrifying Stuff”)
  • postal “ready steady cook” of a sort
  • apparently the Great North Swim has a 500m event
  • do some stargazing

I’m quite excited about the music thing; having not done composing since I was 16 years old, I do love noodling about on the guitar (the one up there^^ as it happens). The plan is to read the play, come up with themes for each of the main characters, work on “passage of time” and “set change” music and then see where it goes. It’ll be multi-track stuff individually recorded and stitched together in Audacity, and there’ll undoubtably be some effects and overproducing going on.

A copy of Sandor Katz‘s The Art of Fermentation has landed in my lap. It is fascinating reading, and enormous. This book isn’t about recipes, it’s about process and culture and background and the hows and whys. There are a lot of photos of mouldy food, though; it is more of an experimental guidebook than a microbiology text or recipe book. And there’s an essay on home-made natto, which I’ll try to read without gipping. Anyway, I’m going to buy some kimchi ingredients and kick start my experiments off this weekend (albeit from a recipe, I’m not that brave yet). I’m not too optimistic that the local far eastern supermarket will have gochugaru or kelp powder, though you never know.

Knitting is also on the cards for the weekend; Knit Camp has finished week one and I’m keen to give continental knitting a try. Hopefully on Sunday I’ll have a pair of mittens. This has reminded me that I’d like to make some brain slugs, which I’ll get on with when the nights start drawing in again towards the bottom half of the year.

This entry was posted in 40things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 40 things: mini update as to what’s going on.

  1. dakegra says:

    Always fancied learning to knit/crochet. Lily’s godmother taught her when we were away on holiday together last year and it looks like fun.

    • backwardslion says:

      The Knit Camp stuff is really easy to follow, and if you’ve got needles/yarn hanging about you can pick it up in under an hour. Make a scarf, or something šŸ™‚

  2. Tessa says:

    I LOVE go ape! Can I come?! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

