What I’m doing in 2014…

Pears

Just because I’ve packed in BGL doesn’t mean I won’t be blogging, or that I’ve retired, or that I have nothing to do now. No, this year I’m doing something a bit mental.

I’m planning on doing “40 whilst being 40” (twitter: #40whilst40 because I’m grammatically pedantic). However, because my 40th birthday was on Dec 14th 2013 I’m counting this whole year as being the one in which I’m 40 – just in case I feel like doing a mad scramble of things at the end of the year. Yes, that’s doing 40 things in my 40th year. 40 things. That doesn’t sound like much, but… it probably is.

The list isn’t done. It’s sort-of getting there, and it’s my usual mix of long-term and one-offs like what I did for 101 Things in 1001 Days (which didn’t end up as badly as the blog suggests – I just didn’t write up a lot of things). Some of the things have a monetary cost which I’m keen to minimise (if anybody has any cheesemaking kit they’re not using, like a press or some in-date interesting bacteria then please get in touch) but many are free or pretty close.

Much of the list is things I’ve never done before or have tried and not done terribly well.

Why am I doing this? For kicks and giggles, if I’m honest. I like to try out new things and stretch myself. I like to magically fold space and time. So much fun was had doing 101 Things that I lost track of the list and branched out into doing new things that became available and I’m hoping a similar things happens here. I don’t really expect to finish 40 things in 52 weeks (or write them all up) but you never know what will come around the next corner.

List will appear in a few days; in the meantime here’s a taster of what I want to do.

  • Home fermenting:
    • kimchi
    • beer
    • sourdough
    • cheese
  • Exercisey stuff:
    • horse riding
    • sub 30m 5k time
    • learn front crawl
    • take at least one pilates class
  • Fun stuff:
    • document all my books read this year (which I’m historically bad at)
    • neon workshop
    • writing/drawing project
    • knitting project
    • have a go at lindy hop
    • baking project
  • and many other things, most of which are on a bunch of post-its including the somewhat cryptic, even for me, “photog stuff”.

So there we are! There’s also a “terrifying stuff” category but I’m unsure what goes in there as yet. If anybody has anything they’d like to see me do then please get in touch and I’ll see if I can fit it in – I could call it the “random challenge challenge” or something.

I don’t do new year resolutions (if I did they’d be “be a better person and do more stuff” every year) so this isn’t a “I must do this to the exclusion of all other things” thing, just some guidelines that I want to drift towards. Let’s see where it takes me.

This entry was posted in 40things and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

